Designated Areas

Designated Areas for Skilled Nominated or Sponsored (Provisional) Subclass 489 Visa

This is a list of the Designated Areas for the purposes of applying for the Skilled Nominated or Sponsored (Provisional) Subclass 489 Visa.

If you have a relative who is ordinarily resident in one of the areas below, they may be eligible to sponsor you for a Skilled Regional Sponsored visa.

Once your visa is granted, you must live in a designated area, though this need not be in the same postcode or state as your sponsor.

State or Territory Designated Areas
Victoria Anywhere
South Australia Anywhere
Northern Territory Anywhere
Tasmania Anywhere
Aust Capital Territory Anywhere
Queensland Postcode areas 4019-4028, 4037-4050, 4079-4100, 4114, 4118, 4124-4150, 4158-4168, 4180-4899 (anywhere except Brisbane metropolitan area)
Western Australia Entire State
New South Wales Post areas 2311-2312, 2328-2333, 2336-2490, 2535-2551, 2575-2739, 2787-2898 (anywhere except Sydney, Newcastle and Wollongong)